2017 Celebration of Medical Student Research and Award Winners

The Alpha Omega Alpha Award in the amount of $1000

  • Carleigh Bruce (Class of 2019),  “Severity of diabetic retinopathy is not related to hemoglobin A1c in mitochondrial haplogroup UK” – Mentor, David Samuels, Ph.D. and Milam Brantley Jr., M.D., Ph.D., at Vanderbilt University, School of Medicine, UF faculty sponsor Sonal Tuli, M.D., Ophthalmology

The Lawrence M. Goodman Trust Award in the amount of $500

  • Stephanie Socias, (Class of 2019) “A predictive algorithm for the administration of novel therapeutic cancer agents” – Mentor, Brent Reynolds, Ph.D., Neurosurgery

The Lawrence M. Goodman Trust Award in the amount of $400

  • Kartik Motwani, (Class of 2019), “Chimeric antigen receptor T-cell therapy of differentiated thyroid cancer” – Mentor, Christopher Wendler, Ph.D., Pediatrics and Scott Rivkees, M.D., Pediatrics

The Lawrence M. Goodman Trust Award in the amount of $300 (tied for 4th place, both recipients will receive the $300 prize)

  • Laura Bochner, (Class of 2019), “Dosimetric comparison of breast boost contribution to composite breast dose in the setting of oncoplastic reconstruction. ” – Mentor, Julie Bradley, M.D., Radiation Oncology
  •  Jordan Reasor, (Class of 2019), “Age-related object discrimination deficits are associated with lateral entorhinal cortical dysfunction” – Mentor, Sarah Nicole Burke, Ph.D. Neuroscience


  • We have not ranked the semi-finalists.Arelys Zamora, Class of 2019, “The temporospatial role of microcirculatory dysfunction in the prediction of ischemia or infarction in patients with aneurysmal subarachnoid hemorrhages”, Mentor, Sylvain Dore, Ph.D., FAHA, Anesthesiology
  • Allison Good, Class of 2019, “Callosal disconnection neglect: Reassessment after 34 years”, Mentor, Kenneth Heilman, M.D., Neurology
  • Babatunde Carew, Class of 2019, “Frequency of Vitamin D deficiency and insufficiency in kidney stone formers: Comparison between pre/post-menopausal women and male cohorts”, Mentor, Victoria Bird, M.D., Urology
  • Aisha Elfasi, Class of 2019, “Confirmation of a large tandem duplication in Dystrophin”, Mentor, Peter Kang, M.D., Pediatric Neurology
  • Gwendolyn Gillies, Class of 2019, “Dandy-Walker malformation: Pathological analysis of the “tail sign”, a potential fourth diagnostic characteristic”, Mentor, Lucia Notterpek, Ph.D., Neuroscience
  • Mason Henehan, Class of 2019, “Activation of Protease-Activated Receptor 2 leads to impairment of keratinocyte differentiation and tight junction integrity”, Mentor, Anna De Benedetto, M.D., Dermatology
  • John Mayfield, Class of 2019, “Bursting the balloon: Transcatheter aortic valve replacement (TAVR) without pre-balloon valvuloplasty”, Mentor, Thomas Beaver, M.D., Ph.D., Surgery
  • Kimberly Triplett, Class of 2019, “Opioid use in pregnancy: a retrospective review of the incidence, in-hospital length of stay, and the costs associated with treating neonatal abstinence syndrome.”, Mentor, Dikea (Kay) Roussos-Ross, M.D., Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Cyra Cottrell, Class of 2019, “Uterine Fibroids: Clinical impact, current medical and surgical therapies and the potential role of insulin like growth factor binding protein 5 (IGF-BP5)”, Mentor, Gregory Christman, M.D., Obstetrics and Gynecology
  •  Dustin Anderson-Terhune, Class of 2019,“RACE to the most appropriate stroke center: Can prehospital personnel appropriately use RACE scores to identify Large Vessel Occlusion (LOV) strokes?”, Mentor, Christine Van Dillen, M.D., Emergency Medicine